blogging · faith · Family · Miscellaneous · Photography

Summary, Refocusing, and (Two) New Directions

I’M STILL ALIVE! So…according to my blog, it’s been almost 3 months since I last published anything here. I’m sorry to have left anyone hanging like that, but as it happens, life happened. The result was an unexpected blogging hiatus which was filled with 3 birthdays, an anniversary, and getting ready for PUBLIC school! Here then, is where I will attempt to give you the condensed, 3 month summary of all that has transpired in my household.

Last May, my husband had his birthday. My oldest made her very first birthday cake for her father. It was really cute and really good!

ba birthday cake

Then, the girls had a Tae Kwon Do tournament at the beginning of June. The eldest won Double Gold, and the second won Gold & Silver. As for me, for half of it, I did this:

tkd baby sleep

It was by the beach, but it was still hot and noisy. He was so very tired.

Anyway, the week after that crazy tournament was my daughter’s 7th birthday! SEVEN. She’s growing up so fast (and losing baby teeth left and right)!

seven

We had a small family cake eating day, and then on a different day, we went to LEGOLAND. We opted for a theme park visit instead of a party. It was so nice not having to clean up afterwards!

Incidentally, my daughter’s birthday also falls on the same day of my grandparents’ wedding anniversary! It was their BIG 60! Can you imagine 60 years of togetherness? How awesome, right?

sixty

THEN, just a few weeks ago, my son turned FIVE! Everyone is just growing up around here. I’m not even “allowed” to call him little boy anymore. He says, “Mom, I’m not little. I’m five now!”

five

Did I mention that through all of these celebrations, we were also finishing up HOMESCHOOL? Yep. Mostly, 6th grade and 1st grade. Thankfully, we’ve finished 1st grade first, so then we got to concentrate on 7th grade more. Those math problems and grammar rules take forever!

homeschool hard at work

Oh, and the kid also had summer classes. Sports and all that madness. Chauffer here and there. You get the idea.

Finally, right at the beginning of August, until this week, I had been taking care of registration for my girls to attend our local public schools. Why the switch from homeschool? Frankly, I need a break this year. A personal, medical problem has arisen to me, so I need to cut back on my stress level.

The school district where we live and are assigned to go is not the best, or what I would have liked, but it’s very late for me to request a transfer. So…we’ll see how it goes. Good thing for me, pulling them out and homeschooling won’t be that much of a problem. I already know I can do it.

LAST but not least, my husband and I just celebrated our 13th Wedding Anniversary! Some people might think that’s a bad number, but it’s actually my favorite! I’m out to prove to the world that 13 is not bad. (Actually, it was my jersey number on every sport I played in middle and high school.)

wedding

So there you have it. You’re up to speed.

AND here’s something I would like you to do: Follow me on my new blog – DefinitelyBeautiful.com My new blog is a challenge to myself to find something beautiful inside every (crazy) day. It’ll include motherhood, among other things, that are going to be mostly secular in nature.

Please add me in my new social spaces too: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook Needless to say, you follow me, I’ll follow you!

I’ve decided that this space, GatheringGraces, will be a space for me to reflect on things that have to do with my faith, mostly. If you’re the spiritual kind, do stay. BUT please also follow me on Definitely Beautiful too.

I’m excited for this new beginning, as it were, for both of my blogs. I hope to see you in at least one of them!

5 thoughts on “Summary, Refocusing, and (Two) New Directions

  1. Whew — that was a busy 3 months for sure!! My blog has had the sound of crickets a lot this summer too. We’ve just been on the go so much — when the sun shines here: you take advantage. And I just decided to Live Life this summer and not worry so much about recording it all down. Plus, they are getting older now and getting them to pose for pics is not as easy!
    60 years!!! Bless them! So lovely to hear about those kind of love stories. 🙂
    And it’s our 13th year too and since I was born on a 13 YOU KNOW that was my jersey number too!!! Imagine that. Volleyball twinsies with #13! LOL

    Like

    1. First. #13TWINSIES! I think I love you more now. 😉
      Anyway, now that the kids are back in public school, I can start blogging a little more again. It’s just hard to get back into again, you know? (Read: I’m lazy. Want sleep.) But I’m looking forward to blogging and being a better blogger. I just… don’t feel like putting in the work yet. Haha. 😉 See around soon! (I hope!)

      Like

  2. It’s amazing how fast time can go by and you realize you haven’t blogged. Think it’s two weeks for me and I’m thinking about and itching to go. I totally get it. Good luck with homeschool. I do hope that your medical problem is not anything too serious and you will be all better with some rest and a little less stress. Take care! xoxo

    Like

    1. I know what you mean about itching to go. Like, do I really want to do this blogging thing? But when I really think about it, I feel like it’s been a part of me for a long time now. Even if I haven’t written much recently, or do, I like that it’s always there when I do want to. It’s a sort of comfort knowing it’s there. Does that make sense?
      As for my medical prob, I’m hoping the reduction in stress will significantly help. (Of course, we’re not counting the first week or two of school, because, crazy.)

      Like

Leave a Comment

